feeling needed

it feels so good, feeling needed.  Knowing it is you who can give help gives you a purpose.  The sense of pride in the service you give motivates you to be better and work harder in every moment.  You feel strong, powerful, and in charge.  It doesn’t matter that you’re not 100% confident in what you are doing because people will inevitably trust you, no matter what, because they need you.  No matter what you do, they will still come back to you, begging, asking you to give them what you gave them last time.  They need it, not you.

Then, once they have it, they forget you.  You start to feel less and less important the more and more you give.  Pretty soon, it is you who needs what you have been giving away.  Left with nothing and no one, you desperately search for someone that can give you something to make you feel strong again.  Four unanswered phone calls later, you realize it’s your fault everyone is gone.  You gave them everything they needed from you.  Unless it is you they actually need, why would they stay?  

It’s sad to think, maybe that’s why I want to be a doctor, just so I can feel needed.  It won’t matter that I never develop a real connection with people because all they really want from me in the first place is my medical opinion.  I can get my “feeling needed” fix, one person at a time.  Story of my life.   But this isn’t who I am.  I want friends, people to like me, understand my complex personality, want to get to know me, want to listen to my stories and my adventures.  But that’s too much work in the real world.  No one has time for that.  That’s why our parents just go to work everyday, come home, and go to bed.  Sure they have “friends” that they eat lunch with at work, that they see at holiday parties, and that give them a call when they have an extra ticket for the game.  But all those other times, without a specific someone in this world, you are likely to be alone.  That’s when your innate strength and power have to pull you through.

and when that fails?

Leave a comment